100 Best Books of the Decade So Far

I guess that’s a fancy way of saying ‘the last 5 years.’ The editors of the Oyster Review have published their picks for the top 100 recently released books. It seems like a decent list. I’ve read 17 of them, which I think is a decent number, and reviewed 14 (so far). I’ve listed some of these books in my annual ‘Best of the Year’ posts, so I guess that means I concur with the editors. I was pleasantly surprised to see some YA books (and some crossover authors) here too. Does this mean the gap between serious adult literature and YA is narrowing?

Here are the books on the list that I’ve reviewed:

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

NW by Zadie Smith

The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

The Flamethrowers by Rachel Kushner

The Magician King by Lev Grossman

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Freedom by Jonathan Franzen

And here are the books on this list that were already on my To-Read list:

The Empathy Exams by Leslie Jamison

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman

Leave a Reply

