Best of 2014

Looking over this year’s books to pick out my favorites, I found I was able to pick out more books than I did last year. It just seemed like I found a ton of super-relevant nonfiction, imaginative YA, and powerful stories this year. (And of course there were the bad ones too.)

Best Nonfiction

Reign of Error: The Hoax of the Privatization Movement and the Danger to America’s Public Schools by Diane Ravitch

All Joy and No Fun: The Paradox of Modern Parenthood by Jennifer Senior

Overwhelmed: Work, Love, and Play When No One Has the Time by Brigid Schulte

The Confidence Code: The Science and Art of Self-Assurance–What Women Should Know by Katty Kay and Claire Shipman

 

Best YA

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Cress by Marissa Meyer

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

 

Best Fiction

A Feast for Crows by George R. R. Martin

The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

 

Worst

Teardrop by Lauren Kate

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

Watership Down by Richard Adams

2 thoughts on “Best of 2014

  1. I just got into the Lunar Chronicles, which is especially ironic considering I went to undergrad with Marissa. What an awesome series!

    And I see you’ve paired it with Leigh Bardugo’s work… yet another up vote for this work to move further up my TBR pile! I’m so far behind in my reading!

  2. Pingback: 100 Best Books of the Decade So Far | MeReader

Leave a Reply

