Excavating the Draft Folder

I realized I finally have something in common with one of my favorite bloggers, Meg Keene of A Practical Wedding! She recently wrote:

Even once I’m done with something—by which I mean, I’m too bored to make any further changes—I have a hard time pulling the trigger. Because what are people going to think? What are they going to say? Is the work even worth putting out in the world? So when I don’t have deadlines, what I do is finish work, and then sit on it. I’m not actually DOING anything anymore, other than pretending that maybe later I’ll fix its flaws.

And I realized I’ve been doing the same thing for a long time. I write a post, decide I’m nervous about it for whatever reason, and bury it in my draft folder. It’s stupid. It’s a waste of my time. I need to deal with my insecurities and fear of controversy and go ahead and post these damn things. So I’ve decided to go ahead and run a few posts this week.

This draft excavation is also related to my recent discussions of confidence. If writing is thought, and confidence is making thought into action, then maybe sharing my writing is an exercise in practicing confidence. And to really make it count, it’s necessary to take some risks. For whatever reason, I felt that these pieces were too risky to publish when I first wrote them, so they seem like great test subjects.

These essays might not be the most timely, but I’ve decided that it’s better to come late to the conversation than to not say anything at all. I’m posting them in roughly the order in which I wrote them. In revising them, I didn’t change details about the time when they were originally written. I just wanted to record a note here about when they were written since they’re so dated.

So here’s what you can look forward to this week:

Thursday: “The Courage to Teach” began as an idea germ during my time in traditional high schools, at least as early as the 2010-11 school year. I think I first put fingers to keyboard to write it in 2012 sometime.

Friday: a response to this post on Renegade Mama’s blog. I wrote this while I was pregnant, almost two years ago.

Monday: “Why Majoring in English is Awesome” dates back to August 2013.

Tuesday: a response to this crazypants post on Matt Walsh’s blog, dates back to November 2013.

2 thoughts on “Excavating the Draft Folder

  1. Pingback: Mothers Deserve Bodily Autonomy Too | MeReader

  2. Pingback: MeReader: Year Three in Review | MeReader

Leave a Reply

