Sleeping Through the Night…and Other Lies

Sleeping Through the Night…and Other Lies: The Mysteries, Marvels, and Mayhem in the First Three Years of Parenthood by Sandi Kahn Shelton

0312203624

I think I picked this book up first because I was looking for books about how to get my baby to sleep, and it came up in a library search. I thought it was going to be about how “sleep training” or “cry it out” is bad and wrong. I’m glad it wasn’t that book. I am so sick of reading about how to get babies to sleep. Instead, this is a humor book that takes a silly, exaggerated view on life with babies and toddlers. It’s not quite as funny as I was hoping it would be, or it wasn’t exactly a match with my sense of humor, or I’m too close to the situation to laugh at it. I wasn’t really put off or offended by any of the jokes, though, so that’s good. It was published back in 1999 and feels a little dated. Anyone who likes books like Confessions of a Scary Mommy or Motherhood Comes Naturally would probably like this one.

Leave a Reply

