Margaret Atwood comes to Nashville!

Margaret Atwood is going to be giving a lecture at the Nashville Public library tomorrow! She is being awarded the Nashville Public Library Literary Award! She’s given us such entertaining and important books as The Handmaid’s Tale, Alias Grace, The Penelopiad, and Oryx and Crake, so I’d say she certainly deserves the recognition! It’s great to see an award, even a small regional one like this, go to a woman, especially one known for writing about feminist and environmentalist topics.

I don’t know if I can describe how excited I am about this event. I feel like a 12-year-old girl at a New Directions or Taylor Swift concert. It’s like when I was in college and I drove to Lexington to see Seamus Heaney (!) and my roommates didn’t understand who he was or why I was so excited. “He’s a rock star!” I told them. Atwood is the same. She’s at that same level of literary superstardom where she’s canonized in the Norton and people will be reading her 100 years from now.  And, sad to say, but she’s an older lady, and she won’t be with us forever. This is a once-in-a-lifetime event!

2 thoughts on “Margaret Atwood comes to Nashville!

Leave a Reply

