New books coming out in 2012

There are lots of great books coming out in 2012! Here are a few I’m eagerly awaiting!

Pure by Julianna Baggott comes out on February 8! 

I met Julianna Baggott when she visited UC for a reading. She’s incredibly sweet and generous, and she gives hope to everyone who wants to both write and mother. I’ve followed her blog ever since. Pure is a post-apocalyptic YA novel that has already been picked up for adaptation. Here‘s a cool book trailer.

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver comes out on February 28!

Like most of the books on this list, Pandemonium is continuing a series I have already enjoyed.  I chose Delirium as one of my favorite books of 2011.

Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore comes out on May 1!

Bitterblue is part of the Graceling series, and the first two were also in my favorite books list.

Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris comes out on May 1 too!

The Sookie Stackhouse books are hit and miss with me. I got into the series while watching the first season of True Blood.  I’ve grown to like the show more than the books, though, and that’s rare with me. I think it’s because TV is a better medium for adapting a novel than a movie. There is more space in a season of hour-long episodes to expand and deepen characters, while a movie can leave too much good stuff on the cutting floor. The main problem I have with this series is that Harris turns them out too quickly, and the series doesn’t seem to be driving toward any particular conclusion. Without an end goal, Sookie just ends up bed-hopping between Bill and Eric and whoever else, and the relationships feel kind of pointless. This is the 11th installment.

Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness comes out on July 10!

This is the sequel to A Discovery of Witches, which was another of my favorite books of 2011. I can’t wait to read all about Diana and Matthew in Elizabethan England! I know Harkness’s knowledge will make it fascinating!

Rules for Virgins by Amy Tan comes out on July 31!

This novella is set in pre-war Shanghai. It feels like it’s been a while since Tan released anything, so this is exciting.  I think it might be only released on the Amazon Kindle.

Have I missed any? Please tell me about any interesting books you know are coming out this year!

It’s going to be a great year!

5 thoughts on “New books coming out in 2012

  1. Pingback: Readerly movies coming out in 2012 | MeReader

  2. Pingback: Favorite blogs | MeReader

  3. Pingback: Pure | MeReader

  4. Pingback: Bitterblue | MeReader

  5. Pingback: Shadow of Night | MeReader

Leave a Reply

