My favorite books of 2011

I thought I’d start the year by reviewing some of my favorite books that I read last year. These books were not all published in 2011, but some of them were. These reviews are somewhat shorter and less detailed than the ones that I hope to post regularly, mostly since it’s been a while since I read them and I don’t have copies handy for reference. I chose 13 that I have fudged down to 10 through counting some series books as one entry. I have not ranked these 10 items but have grouped them in pairs by theme or author. I’ll post them in sets of two over the next week or few days.

Part 1: Pretty Language and Faeries

  

Lament and Ballad by Maggie Stiefvater

Maggie Stiefvater is most well known for her Shiver books, which tapped into the current Twilight-induced YA fascination with werewolves. I read them and enjoyed them. But not as much as I enjoyed Lament and Ballad. Stiefvater is one of the best sentence-writers working in YA fiction today. Her writing is descriptive and ethereal, perfect for her topic of faeries. I fall into a kind of trance when reading her musical, poetic language. The ominous, scary faerie world, the characters with real conflicts and consequences, the believable love stories, the descriptions of music which even a music mundane like me can appreciate, and the compelling moral dilemmas all add up to novels that are hard to put down and reward rereading.

5 thoughts on “My favorite books of 2011

  1. Pingback: 100 Best YA Novels | MeReader

  2. Pingback: Beautiful Redemption | MeReader

  3. Pingback: The Dream Thieves | MeReader

  4. Pingback: Sinner | MeReader

  5. Pingback: 2016 Southern Festival of Books | MeReader

Leave a Reply

